I just modernized an application

Introduction

While following the buzz from IBMConnect16 remote I have been working in spare time on my Bildr project available on OpenNTF.

This time I have been focussing on improving the UI by adding more material design principles which should make it easier to distinguish content on a page. Beside that it is just good fun to work with UI sometimes it forces you to improve the back-end logic also.

Capture02

The image above demonstrates the display of related content on a single page where a profile contains lists of related documents.

NoSQL is a party

The following image demonstrates the information (e.g. categories) abstracted from a list of documents and on the right a random selected document from that list and showing some abstracted information from that document.

Capture04

Here you can see well IBM Notes works as a nosql database where documents are loosely coupled and may contain almost anything (well I try to avoid rich text). Especially in a rapid application development paradigm I like the flexibility of nostrict data structure at the time you start developing.

I have not heard much news about NSF from IBMConnect (Solr? Graph features? Performance improvements?) to make it competitive to other nosql options (why do I not see NSF back in this list?).

I hope IBM is aware of NSF’s image problem and admits steps need to be taken to improve it.

Bluemix

I am not sure what the next step for the app will be but I haven’t tried it on Bluemix yet, which could be interesting. The XGallery demo on YouTube shows some great potential.

 

2 thoughts on “I just modernized an application

  1. Frank van der Linden 2016-February-8 / 8:04 am

    On Bluemix the Watson Visual Recognition service can be interesting for Bildr

    • Patrick Kwinten 2016-February-8 / 12:12 pm

      I saw the demo of the xgallery application and there the usage of the visual recognition from Watson is truely great I agree. So we are waiting for the code from that application to be published…

Leave a Reply

