Born social – Create a Social Notes application from scratch

Introduction

A long time ago (it seems) I had the idea to prepare integration of Connections with Xpages development via the SBTSDK. I thought this would be a good way to learn Connections and it’s API more in details. By setting up custom controls you would be able to build mash-up apps piece by piece.

However there seemed to be little interest for this in the market (correct me if I am wrong) so I continued with other technologies.

Lately Mark Roden posted a couple of posts on his blog regarding the social business toolkit so I hop on to this and post my previous work. Hopefully it can help someone getting started.

Downloads

Born Social – the doc

The document Born Social describes how to setup your server, development environment and application to get started developing with the SBTSDK.

It also provide code samples of custom controls to display information from IBM Connections.

born social

Previous Posts on SBT SDK

Perhaps it helps to read some previous posts I wrote on the SBT SDK.

Born Social – the app

The following file contains an NSF file with all the code, custom controls and some sample xpages.

born social app

Summary

I hope the provided samples and guidance will help you to get started with the SBT SDK.

At IBMConnect at the IBM developers booth I asked what the upcoming plans where for SBT SDK and if we could get more controls for XPages but the answer was that IBM had received very few questions for application development with Connections :-/

Perhaps if more people debunk this mind-set at IBM, perhaps by sharing their samples, interest will grow.

One thought on “Born social – Create a Social Notes application from scratch

Leave a comment