Using the beanNamePicker dataProvider for a namepicker

For an application I needed to provide a namepicker with data from a NotesView. Unfortunately I could not use the default dominoViewNamePicker option as the data provider because the column to select from may not be a multi-value field or contain multiple fields. 😕

A search on google provided me an example how to use a beanNamePicker that will read the data from Domino Directories.

I created a GIST for the XPage: https://gist.github.com/PatrickKwinten/0bcc951a8eb1f5ef287c0c9b05a535a3 and for the Java class it uses: https://gist.github.com/PatrickKwinten/4aa15ea09717833bcc9fd1a941d9e5a8 .

Basically here is how you set it up:

<xe:namePicker id=”npDomino” for=”person1″>
<xe:this.dataProvider>
<xe:beanNamePicker dataBean=”org.wordpress.quintessens.demo.app.NamePickerDirectory”
loaded=”true”>
</xe:beanNamePicker>
</xe:this.dataProvider>
</xe:namePicker>

Key is that you return an object of type SimplePickerResult containing a list of objects of type <IPickerEntry>.

For my case I needed to go to a view where all the activities for users for the application where logged. Again I used a similar setup:

<xe:namePicker id=”npDomino” for=”person1″>
<xe:this.dataProvider>
<xe:beanNamePicker dataBean=”org.wordpress.quintessens.demo.app.NamePickerView”
loaded=”true”>
</xe:beanNamePicker>
</xe:this.dataProvider>
</xe:namePicker>

But now I go to a different class which I created a Gist for: https://gist.github.com/PatrickKwinten/c3580344a48704b3589251c0d5bbb8e5 .

Key difference is that my data source has become a Notes view and I check the type of column (columnValue instanceof String, ArrayList, Vector) because I have different type of fields and values in my first column.

So once you understand how you can extend the basic functionality within XPages you gain much flexibility and new opportunities with out of the box controls.

Please IBM provide us with more examples!!!

IBM Champion Nomination

Is this blog-article useful to you? Perhaps you can nominate me as IBM Champion.

 

 

Leave a Reply

