DDE Does Disruption

This week we received an incident about an application that was not accessible any longer. It turned out that all the design elements where signed with my Notes ID which has (of course) insufficient rights to run in the Production environment.

The curious case here is that nobody intentionally replaced or refreshed the design of the application.

The application still had the “inherit design from template” option enabled. However the template resides on a different server and there is no replication between the Production and this staging server.

I know I have the two databases somewhere in a Working Set in my Domino Designer so most obvious option for the design refresh must have come from my workstation even though I have not worked with these applications this week .

Have you experienced something similar also? What was the cause?

2 thoughts on “DDE Does Disruption

  1. Paul Withers (@PaulSWithers) 2017-August-21 / 2:50 pm

    Is it an XPages application? If so, a build deletes all the Java class files and re-creates them as the current user. It’s why OpenNTF threw a 403 error once a few years ago when a developer just opened the application in Domino Designer, because they had build automatically enabled. It’s why I always tell developers to switch off build automatically in my XPages training, and why I often close and re-open Domino Designer to ensure any open applications are closed and not accidentally built when doing a “Build All”. Some actions in the Notes Client will also open the application in Domino Designer, if Designer is also open, so it’s worth staying alert before running build all.

    • Patrick Kwinten 2017-August-21 / 3:11 pm

      That sounds like a sincere dangerous situation to have the “build automatically” option enabled (which I had). Still I do not understand why DDE would build it when I did not have the design/application open. Thanks for the warning!

Leave a Reply

