I am a certified Graphista

Sweden has many IT solutions to be proud of. I assume you are using/have used Spotify or Skype.

Perhaps you are not aware but another “Swedish” product you might have been using is Neo4j, a graph database management system. Graphs are all around us. Typical use cases are recommendation systems, fraud detection and social networks.

You can also make your IBM Notes data more ‘connected’ by using the Graph DB capabilities available in the OpenNTF Domino API.

I chose to walk the easiest path to learn about Graph data modelling and that was to learn the probably most documented, described, leading Graph Db: Neo4j. After a while I felt comfortable with all the terminology, concepts and programmatic use so I felt confident to take the test to become a Neo4j Certified Professional.

And voila!, here is the result:

neo4jcertificate

The test was harder than expected, the time pressure was significant and some subjects out of scope of my experience (administrator experience in a Production environment) but with logic and wishful thinking I came to a positive result 🙂

So far I have not read too many use-cases where IBM Notes data was used within Neo4j or applications written in XPages using the graph db of Neo4j. But what is not is yet to come…

 

2 thoughts on “I am a certified Graphista

  1. ebors 2016-December-8 / 1:28 pm

    Congrats to the cert 🙂 If you have any exp with the neo4j in xpages, im looking forward to any new info 🙂

    • Patrick Kwinten 2016-December-9 / 10:14 am

      Hi Erik,

      Of course you can go the JavaScript way to access Neo4j but I would think the Java way has some advantages if you develop with Domino Designer and use XPages.

      The question is more what do you want to achieve? Work with Notes data (I pressume)? What and how do you want to display of the data e.g. how does your application look like? So what is your use-case?

      I have a use case where I want to connect multiple business data (people , organizations, projects, references, equipment, contracts, customers) with each other. At least Neo4j enables me to query paths that are longer than 1 relationship (typical for column filtered queries) e.g. for the Sales department check which phones they own and give me 3 recommendations what mobile phone to order for a new employee, respecting that the new phone is less expensive as the newcomer’s direct chef.

Leave a Reply

