Adventurer

I have always known that I am an adventurer. My Lotus/IBM Notes career started as a adventure into an international professional working-experience and the people who know me will probably say that it will be very hard to make an ordinary “9 to 5” office guy out of me.

I could never resist the call of the trail – Buffalo Bill

So far about me as person. The occasion of this post are several calls in the community to take a look at Salesforce as an application development platform.

So I took the time to take a look at it to find out if it would be of interest of me. As suggested my journey started with Trailhead. My journey, so far has lead me to finish the developer beginner trail.

I will write about my first experience and will not do any comparison, simply because my knowledge on Salesforce is limited to do so.

If you read this trail description it tells you it will take you up to 15 hrs and 45 minutes. Well I can tell you: it took me much more time. There is a LOT of text to read, video’s are  included and there are challenges to complete modules and to earn points for badges. A challenge can be a list of questions or an exercise.

So let’s assume all the effort and time-investment does contribute to your understanding of the platform.

Before starting, a couple of developers told me about the similarities with Notes and XPages and I have to say it is nice to recognize that building XPages applications have brought Notes developers closer to genuine application development (as far as it compared with Salesforce).

Salesforce biggest ugliness at start is of course it is not NonSQL as Notes is.

A nice feature is Salesforce web enabled development interface. I have not come to the Eclipse IDE yet. I have used the classic web interface, since in Trailhead the examples and screenshots are from the classic interface. I can not say I am in love with a web interface since I noticed some genuine lags compared to the XPages IDE (autocomplete for example). Also getting into read mode after performing a save action I found annoying.

I admit there are similarities programming in Salesforce compared to Notes and XPages, but I guess this comparison is similar with other programming languages. When it regards to building custom user interfaces Visualforce reminds me a lot about XPages.

So after completing this first trail I find the learning curve not that steep. Using Trailhead is just very time-consuming. An instructor or video-learning would have been much more time efficient. But if you want to gain some deep knowledge it doesn’t hurt to spend time on the approach.

A quote I heard is that Salesforce is the platform Notes should have been (if IBM would have prioritized it more) and that there are many more goodies to be found in the trail Develop for Lightning Experience so I am looking forward to take another hike. Ofcourse with my newly earned Adventurer badge on my backpack🙂

Leave a Reply

