From Windows 10 to Linux Mint 18

This week I decided to move over my Development host environment from Windows to Linux Mint after a post of a friend in which he stated that he had abandoned his long love with Linux Mint 17… for version 18. If you are unfamiliar with Linux Mint here is a good review on Linux Mint 18.

For the last decade I have been the regular corporate developer, so I did not mind too much about OS and when my pc became slow I just looked for a solution in newer hardware. 2 years ago I bought a new laptop (Lenova), Intel i7 processor, SSD disk, lots of GB for storage and 16GB of RAM. Oh and Windows 8. For Development I use Virtualbox with a Windows 7 guest OS where my Domino server runs on and the client programs (DDE mostly).

Things were running fast in the beginning and the update to Windows 10 was not a problem. But after a while, performance became less due to unknown reasons so I could re-install the whole thing over again (and get in trouble with my fellow users on the machine) or look for an alternative. That alternative became a dual boot option between Windows and Linux Mint.

The installation and re-installation (too small partition at first) went smoothly and within minutes I was running my Development environment hosted on Linux Mint (thanks to the Software Manager). The whole adaption of Linux Mint is a piece of cake. To me Mint desktop reminds me of Windows XP.

The long-term support of Linux Mint 18 (2021) and the possibility of Windows 10 turning from a purchase model into a subscription model is a consideration for the future. Also having features installed from scratch such as an image editor (Gimp) and Office software (Libre Office) is nice. Now I just have to consider switching over from our beloved multi-purpose client (Notes) to something more basic (Thunderbird)…

Rather would I move away my guest environment away from Windows too, but Domino Designer / Administrator is bound to Windows. #WWYT?

In the pipeline I have a Macbook, which delivery takes a bit longer than expected. I am curious how your development environments look like. Perhaps I could take a little tips from them.

Happy development =)

 

6 thoughts on “From Windows 10 to Linux Mint 18

  1. ursus schneider 2016-August-9 / 4:51 pm

    MacBook with VMWare for Designer. Tried Designer with Wine but it was just WAY to slow to be of any use – also the keyboard did not work as I wanted so I went back to VMWare.

  2. Patrick Kwinten 2016-August-9 / 5:00 pm

    Hi Ursus, I have used VMWare also (on Windows), unfortunately the software is not for free. I also ran Parallel on Mac to run Windows and I was surprised how easy that went (also not for free). I just sent a message to Wine team how up to date their solution is, but you do not seem to favour them…

  3. Ursus Schneider 2016-August-9 / 6:47 pm

    Hi Patrick, I would have loved to get rid of Windows but it didn’t work for me. Give Domino4Wine a look and let me know what you think :o)

  4. Bill Malchisky 2016-August-9 / 9:21 pm

    Patrick – http://domino4wine.com/ is your solution. Run DDE and Admin natively on Red Hat, Ubuntu, or Mac OS X. There are a few graphical things needed where IBM needs some input, but overall, it’s solid.

    Welcome to the world of Linux. If you have any questions, just ask. Good luck.

    • Ursus Schneider 2016-August-11 / 9:16 am

      @Bill – I tried Domino4Wine but there where a couple of problems that just made it impossible to use (for me) – some of these are still in the list of problems on the Domino4Wine site: no copy paste and no ctrl-break. I spoke with Justin about these problems at Connect and online and, although I do appreciate the work going into this, IBM just obviously is not interested in helping. The last time I tried was at the beginning of the year – do you know if things have gotten better since then?

  5. Keith Strickland 2016-August-11 / 4:52 pm

    Macbook Pro with Parallels to run Domino. Works pretty good, been using this configuration now for about 3 years with few complaints. I did move to a Surface Pro 4 for a little while. I love the hardware, but IBM’s support for Retina displays is sorely lacking.

Leave a Reply

