XPages and Java from Start to Finish – My way

hqdefault

Last week David Leedy published on Youtube an excellent episode with the title “XPages and Java from Start to Finish” under his Notes in 9 stream.

In this show I do an in depth demo of an XPages app that’s based on Java Code. I didn’t take time tom build it from scratch but I go over every line of code in the app.

The app lets you you Create, Read, Update, and Delete Project documents, and then add to each project an unlimited number of tasks.

This week I was in the fortune to have time to look at the show and this episode offers what a lot of Notes developers are looking for: a simple, step by step demonstration and explaination how to (re)write an XPages application and keep the business logic as much as possible away from the presentation.

David also offers the application as a download on his NotesIn9 site. I think the concept is quiete interesting in it’s simplicity and I want to investigate if I can extend it to a level where JSON configuration files (Notes documents) can be used to define the data in an application?

In such way the same code can result in different types of applications, say the fifty nifty Lotus Notes type of applications we had in the 90’s. So anyone can write his/her own application only if you know a bit of JSON (or you know a guy who knows a bit of JSON). That sounds even more Notes in 9-ties😉

For now I just looked at the design and made some minor changes to the design e.g. I removed the notes view as a data source on the startpage. My sample DB is available under this link (perhaps I should think about using github). Thanks David for your inspiration and I am looking forward to your next show!

 

Uncategorized

2 thoughts on “XPages and Java from Start to Finish – My way

  1. Keith Strickland 2015-September-28 / 11:54 pm

    Hi Patrick, a while back I saw that you were using a view to create a JSON object from. But since you’re looking to use JSON generated from a document, take a look at the OpenNTF Domino API. That offers document to JSON conversion out of the box. So the Document object has a toJson method that will spit out the relevant JSON for you. That way you don’t really have to know much about JSON in order to take advantage of it.

  2. David Leedy 2015-September-30 / 3:29 pm

    Thanks for the kind words! I really appreciate it. Glad you liked the show!

Leave a Reply

