View filtering – Too many keys

I received a request from a collegue that it would help her if she could display a Notes view on the web instead updating a static HTML table with the same content.

“No prob'” – I said, so I created an XPage with a view table.

Because I like to promote XPages into our company I would like to make the view table a bit more advanced (there are only 5 columns) so I was thinking about filtering options since the view contains approx. 200 records.

I found some nice explanation about applying filter options here and here but after applying more than 2 comboboxes I get already the error message:

Error source

Page Name:/videoconference.xsp

Exception

Too many keys

Can someone tell me what I am doing wrong? I am just re-using the script that you can find in the XPages example db:

var vtr:java.util.Vector = new java.util.Vector();
var t1 = requestScope.val01;
var t2 = requestScope.val02;
var t3 = requestScope.val03;

@If(t1 !=null,vtr.addElement(t1),vtr.addElement(“”));
@If(t2 !=null,vtr.addElement(t2),vtr.addElement(“”));
@If(t3 !=null,vtr.addElement(t3),vtr.addElement(“”));
return vtr

 

7 thoughts on “View filtering – Too many keys

  1. Stephan H. Wissel 2010-December-23 / 6:24 pm

    Did u sort all columns? AFAIK the filter requires the column to be sorted.

  2. Patrick Kwinten 2010-December-24 / 10:49 am

    Hi Stephan,

    most columns where indeed not sorted. After sorting them the error message only appears if you also have the column headers as sortable and when you click on them :-/

    I also notice that the filtering results are very different from what expected (desired). It seems to filter only the first x number of documents. I never get in the page navigator multiple pages.

    So if anyone knows a better implementation to simulate a pivot table approach please let me know.

  3. Paul Withers 2010-December-24 / 12:23 pm

    Can you build up a search from the filtering options, and put the query in the search property for the DominoView data source? It will return results based on relevance and (AFAIK) needs the database to be FT indexed, but may give the functionality you require.

  4. Thomas Adrian 2010-December-25 / 3:01 pm

    Just a quick thought. Try using “get” on your requestscope

    • Patrick Kwinten 2010-December-28 / 8:27 pm

      instead of requestScope I am using viewScope now, this seems to solve the problems with navigating through the viewtable…

  5. Largolgd 2011-July-21 / 11:55 am

    I work from the database “Demonstration Application for XPages in IBM Lotus Notes Domino R8.5.2” available from your links. I’ve added a sortable column and i’ve replaced requestScope with viewScope. The filters works fine but unfortunately when i sort the column, i got the message “Too many keys”.

    Did you do something else?

Leave a Reply

