Buggy LotusScript debugger – Looses focus at startup.

Whenever I start the LotusScript debugger it comes up and then disappears. It simply loses focus.  I cannot set focus on the debugger via the tab controls under Windows. What is worst, Domino Designer also becomes frozen, since it is said to the background by the debugger.

Have more people experienced this pain and how did you solved it? Can it be resolved by any of the preferences in Designer under debug?

I read a similar case here. I have registered a support case at IBM so I am waiting for a reply. But in the mean time I cannot test my code…

7 thoughts on “Buggy LotusScript debugger – Looses focus at startup.

  1. Tommy Valand 2010-December-7 / 11:30 am

    Most of the times, you can click on another application in the start bar, then click on the debugger, and the focus will return.

    I think this started in 8.5.1 or 8.5.0

  2. Patrick Kwinten 2010-December-7 / 11:37 am

    well AFTER I send in a report I was thinking, let’s make a screencast from it, so I have some proof in case support would contact me. In the program I selected an active window, and from then on the debugger kept focus…. odd….

  3. Erik Norfelt 2010-December-7 / 11:58 am

    Yea I have the same problem. Switching focusing between windows solves it for me.
    Bring us the Eclipse debugger for LS and Java in DDE! 😀

  4. Martijn de Jong 2010-December-8 / 12:33 am

    Sounds all too familiar. Switching windows in the taskbar is my current workaround too. Anoying issue nevertheless. 8.5.2 here.

  5. Selcuk Ayguney 2010-December-8 / 1:20 pm

    If you open Notes Help (or click F1) when the debugger is on, it may also causes a freeze.

  6. Rich Fiekowsky 2013-May-14 / 5:04 pm

    Three years later, script debugger still hangs until I click a non-Notes task in the taskbar, then click the script debugger in the taskbar. This is with Windows 7 Professional, and up-to-date Designer 8.5.3 .
    Also, the script debugger window is not pickable by using Alt-Tab.
    IMO, the big picture for Notes: While old bugs fester, new ones appear.

Leave a Reply

