DPloy on OpenNTF?

In the October newsletter from LotusUserGroup Kathy Brown writes regarding Applicatio Development Cycles:

VERSION CONTROL

Version control allows you to know what has been added at what time to
an application. It also (when properly implemented) allows you to
quickly and easily roll back if something goes wrong with deployment.

A simple way to add versions is to create a new template. DXL provides
more complex versioning, although watch out (DXL doesn’t have full
fidelity; we know, we know, someday … ).  You can also use a tool
such as Teamstudio’s Build Manager or DPloy on OpenNTF.

DPloy. Has anyone an idea what OpenNTF project she is referring to?

4 thoughts on “DPloy on OpenNTF?

  1. Tim Tripcony 2010-October-7 / 3:30 pm

    I do… I wrote DPloy. About 4 years ago. It works very well but (in my opinion) is rather ugly. So when I heard about Kathy’s recent webcast on this topic, I mentioned to her my intent to revisit DPloy – specifically, add a basic XPage interface both to allow it to be fully functional from a browser and to modernize its UI. Upon completion of that task, I was going to post the application to OpenNTF.

    I’ve been extremely busy, however, and have not had time to follow through on this. But now that people are being told it’s already there, I reckon I’d best get it there… perhaps I’ll post what I already have – as I said, even though it’s ugly, it does work. Then, when I have a free weekend (which is honestly all it would take to finish), I’ll post the prettier version.

    Or, since it will be open source, maybe someone else can take up the reins. 🙂

  2. Lars Berntrop-Bos 2010-October-7 / 4:32 pm

    I don’t care if it’s made from concrete, if it gives me usuable version in Domino control I’m all for it. Please publish, put what you want to improve as feature requests. Or defects, if they impair your enjoyment severely 😉

    That way we know in wich manner the ugly brute could be polished.

    Cheers!

  3. Tim Tripcony 2010-October-7 / 5:07 pm

    @Lars, DPloy is so named because it’s designed specifically for deployment; the rollback capability is per release. So, for example, if your current production version of some application is 1.2 and you push out a major upgrade (i.e. 2.0), and everything goes wrong, DPloy will give you one-click rollback to 1.2.

    DesignCatalog, an app I wrote years before I wrote DPloy, is already out on OpenNTF. It’s designed primarily for development: it allows you to place specific design elements under version control, so while you’re modifying individual elements, you can revert to previous versions if you want to get back something that was removed (or remove something that was added). It also allows you to drag and drop elements from multiple source templates to a single destination template, and define groups of related elements so that entire featuresets can be added to any template with a single drag operation.

    I probably won’t have time to post it today, but certainly by Monday I’ll upload the current version of DPloy. At some point I think it should be merged with DesignCatalog, so that element-level and template-level version control can all be managed from a single tool. But in the meantime I’m going to leave them separate, because DesignCatalog is targeted mostly for developers, whereas DPloy is mostly an administrative tool for deploying and reverting entire templates, and storing documentation on the nature of each release.

    • Patrick Kwinten 2010-October-8 / 7:04 am

      I agree with Lars, an alpha release could spark further development up (in the community). I guess if you are already extremely busy you do not want to be the project leader for that…

      I will take a look at design catalog but the way you describe Dploy makes it definitely worth looking at. Possible we can further develop it at my comp and redistribute it in the open.

Leave a Reply

