DominoWiki – Anyone continued improving the application?

I am planning some activities for later this year. One of them is the continues improvement updating and writing down standards and guidelines within Notes/Domino development.

Since I want the database lightly accessible (read: open in browser) I am thinking about moving the information from our non-webified Notes database into a Wiki.

I have 2 candidates: #1 is the favoured DominoWiki and the other is the XPages Wiki which never have come to an official release (shame on you IBM!).

Both applications haven’t had a new release in 2010 and I am not sure if there are plans for updates? (nice idea for OpenNTF). The XPages wiki has got a smoother presentation layer but DominoWiki, like others, I find much more robust.

Since I am am a bit of favour for DominoWiki I wonder if anyone kept developing on the application and if improved code is available?

3 thoughts on “DominoWiki – Anyone continued improving the application?

  1. David Leedy 2010-July-19 / 2:26 pm

    The XPages Wiki has seen a lot of enhancements from IBM internally. They’ve not given those enhancements back to openNTF yet, but my understanding is that they will. Who knows when, or if I guess, but that code is being enhanced and ideally going to be made available.

    Might be worth another look.

  2. Patrick Kwinten 2010-July-19 / 2:32 pm

    Hej David,

    yes I heard about that in some vodcast. But then they also have to give it to us.

    Since both applications use the WIKI markup I hope that any movement from appA to appB does not have to much consequences for the content…

  3. Ben Poole 2010-July-19 / 2:50 pm

    I posted back in February that I wouldn’t be working on DominoWiki for the forseeable future, and that’s still the case.

    http://benpoole.com/weblog/201002250019

    It really needs to move to XPages, because maintaining a wiki parser in Lotusscript that doesn’t rely on the Win32 API is horrendous! Some nice SSJS with its regex implementation would be way more robust.

    I may take this on at some future date, as I’d like to keep the wiki up, but I can’t see that happening in the immediate future.

    With regards backwards compatibility / mark-up, I’ve always endeavoured to keep the wiki functioning with all document versions.

Leave a Reply

