Bildr project: looking for a calendar control and easiest way to add a tagcloud

For my little project on OpenNTF called Bildr I am re-writing the interface at the moment in XPage technology.

So far it has been a good pickup of my previous learning of the technolgy but I am currently facing some issues with elements which I havent found a direct translation for:

  • Calendar control for navigating pictures uploaded in the current month
  • Tagcloud

Calendar control

In the left side of the application I have a datepicker of the current month from where you should be able to pick highlighted days. Each highlighted day should contain documents uploaded that day.

I found some code written by Declan Lynch but it does not work (for me). Besides that IndexVar has changed appearantly into indexVar the following code causes trouble:

<xp:this.styleClass><!DATA[#{javascript:if (calIndex != 0){
if (calIndex + firstDayInMonth  % 7 == 0){
return “firstday”;
} else {
return “”;
} } }>
</xp:this.styleClass>

If you have a better or working example, please let me know.

Tagcloud

In the leftside I have a tagcloud which will open related documents tagged with the label.

Oh! boy. I thought developing with XPages would become fun with out of the box Web 2.0 functionality which you can easily drag and drop on your XPage and configure but I can not find the easiest way to implement a tagcloud (no custom control on openntf). So my next question:

What is the easiest way to implement a tagcloud? Open the discussion template and copy which files?

Thanks for your help!

4 thoughts on “Bildr project: looking for a calendar control and easiest way to add a tagcloud

  1. Declan Lynch 2010-March-3 / 9:52 pm

    It is possible the code got a little mangled in the Blogsphere parser as it looks a little weird to me also. The bit that says DATA should really be a CDATA block and there is a [ missing also…

    I would suggest going into the properties for the styleclass and clearing out what is written and then click the button to compute the value and then just enter in the javascript from the original code :

    if (calIndex != 0){
    if (calIndex + firstDayInMonth % 7 == 0){
    return “firstday”;
    } else {
    return “”;
    } }

    That should then put in the correct CDATA bits for you.

    • Patrick Kwinten 2010-March-4 / 10:38 pm

      owrighty thanks for the hints, I will take a look at the code

      • Patrick Kwinten 2010-March-4 / 10:56 pm

        I guess the code goes wrong with defining the server side javascript:

        iewScope.dispCalYear = @Year(@Now());
        viewScope.dispCalMonth = @Month(@Now());
        viewScope.daysInMonth = new Date(viewScope.dispCalYear, viewScope.dispCalMonth, 0).getDate();
        viewScope.firstDayInMonth = new Date(viewScope.dispCalYear,viewScope.dispCalMonth -1 ,1).getDay();

        where do you place it?

Leave a Reply

