First project on OpenNTF – Bildr

There is a natural discussion going around about the OpenSource community for Lotus Notes Domino.

I have spreaded out my opinions about the state of OpenNTF (read: you could summarize it as: great job what the IBM-ers done so far, although I would have expected something more resources from their company) several times.

Nevertheless I am thankful to the people who have contributed code on OpenNTF and from I have learned quiet a lot.

I guess the best way to show my gratitude and my opinion or reaction on the discussion on OpenSource for Notes/Domino would be by uploading some of my past work as a project.  Dare to share.

Since this is my first release ever on OpenNTF I hope I have selected all the correct options etcetera. Just uploading the information I believe the tool to manage projects on OpenNTF can use a revision too. Especially more ‘collaborative’ applications are difficult to place under the correct category.

Anyway, my project is called Bildr, an application which allows an easy way to upload, resize multiple photos at once. The photos can be navigated via several options in the browser. Visitors can leave comments on photos.

The application is pretty much ‘domino development in the pre-xpages days’ spiced up with some MooTools and Lightbox stuff. I guess the next logical step for the application will be to XPage enable it.

Hopefully this action will lead to a continuous sharing of applications on OpenNTF. Have a nice weekend!

11 thoughts on “First project on OpenNTF – Bildr

  1. giuseppegrasso 2010-February-26 / 2:57 pm

    (check your title, you misspelled openNTF as openNTD)

  2. Wayne 2010-February-26 / 4:29 pm

    Congratulations on you OpenNTF entry. I’ve downloaded the sample you loaded in a previous article and found the overall interface to be quite pleasant.
    I’m also using it to educate myself about Web type development as I’ve never had to go in that direction before.

    Thank you for submitting the project

  3. David Leedy 2010-February-26 / 4:35 pm

    Neat idea! Question on the project. When photo’s are uploaded – to a notes doc I assume, do you have the ability to resize them and save it back to the document?

    Thanks

    • Patrick Kwinten 2010-February-26 / 6:52 pm

      yes each photo is stored in a Notes document, in three size formats: original, preview and thumbnail.

      Sizing you define in the configuration. resizing afterwards is not included at the moment.

  4. Gregory Engels 2010-February-26 / 5:21 pm

    I had thought it would be about a new OpenNTF competitor OpenNTD… but this is just a typo 🙂

  5. Vince Schuurman 2010-February-26 / 6:35 pm

    hehe, about time you uploaded something, I have been waiting on that for 8 years 😛

  6. Werner Motzet 2010-February-27 / 11:27 am

    Hello Patrick,

    thank you very much for this database. It is very great and it shows again how helpfull it is when people “think outside of the (notes)box” (or “look beyond the rim of your teacup”) It is very helpfull to nee no ohter tool to resize the pictures. In the moment I have one little problem: When we try to open the picture in the lightbox the hostname is wrong. I think this is created by >>@webdbname<<? And it does not work right on our Installation/Configuration.

    Thank you very much for your wounderfull work,

    Kind Regards
    Werner Motzet
    PS: I am sorry you had to sold your motorcycle especially on this sunny Saturday – I am a Honda CB-Four Driver (from the seventies)

    • Werner Motzet 2010-February-27 / 1:07 pm

      we used the designer and found:

      The Problem is “##servername##/” in a Column of two Views:
      (SYSTEM: Pictures ImageFlow by Author)Alias: $v-pixsimageflowbyauthor in “untitled-Column”
      and
      (SYSTEM: Pictures Imageflow) Alias: $v-piximageflow in “imageflow-Column”

      As a workaround we replaced “##servername##/” by our Address, now it works.

      An a little feature request, my pictures have EXIF-Tags and contains a Information about Orientation, so it would be very helpfull when the pictures get imported with the right orientation. Thank you very much.
      Werner Motzet

    • Patrick Kwinten 2010-February-27 / 7:51 pm

      aaah a Honda CB-Four Driver. Nice one! Well selling the motorcycle (Honda Fireblade) is more part of creating budget for a motorcycle to fits more to my age (just like Vince although a BMW is for really old farts haha). A CB750 is also in my mind for some years. Nice sound, nice look. Awful breaks but maybe you do not need them so much when you drive not so fast 🙂

Leave a Reply

