XPages Wiki – Great stuff but what about tables?

I am moving a Handbook which is now 100% in Notes into the XPages Wiki. The application works great (good job guys) but it bothers me 1 major thing:

  • The creation of tables

I have found some help for Wiki markup here:

http://www-10.lotus.com/ldd/ddwiki.nsf/dx/Wiki_Help

But creating tables feels a bit buggy.

I have no idea what the XPages Wiki supports or not compared with the markup for Wikipedia?:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Help:Wiki_markup#link-external

But coming back to the topic: How do you define tables in the Wiki? Right now I am using a work-around and I display the content I would normally display in a table via an unordered list:

column 1 column2
column 1 column2
  • column 1
    • column 2
  • column 1
    • column 2
4 thoughts on “XPages Wiki – Great stuff but what about tables?

  1. Werner Motzet 2010-January-31 / 9:58 pm

    Hello,

    to create an table I use the Notes 8.5.1 StandardClient.

    Kind Regards

  2. Werner Motzet 2010-January-31 / 10:03 pm

    hello
    and Thank you very much for the link how to create a Table.
    As I now checed on my version oft the wiki template this works:

    To create a simple table, use Table: | is for a cell |= is for a cell heading for example:
    |=|=Table|=Heading
    |a| Table | Row
    |b| Table | Row

  3. m.l. 2010-February-1 / 9:03 am

    Had never problems with that syntax.

    But if i create a (richtext) table in notes, a lot of line breaks will generated above. If it is inserted via web, there are even more line breaks.

    Does someone know a solution to this?

    • Patrick Kwinten 2010-February-1 / 10:36 am

      I have the same experience, therefor I am using the unordered list instead. even adding a table according to the markup specification causes problems with breaking tables and so on…

Leave a Reply

