How to initiate a partial refresh from a dijit.tree?

On an XPage I have a dojo.dijitree module which uses a Notes View as the datastore.

I have the universal ID of the referring document available for each item in my tree widget.

What I would like to do know is when some clicks on an item that a part of the content on the XPage gets refreshed with a part (data field) of the referring document. But I am not sure how to do this.

The only thing I have is an onclick event on my tree-item.

When I have have a button with the partical refresh enabled it says:

<xp:eventHandler event=”onclick” submit=”true” refreshMode=”partial” refreshId=”PaneToRefresh”>

Then I can place an server side action like:


If I place this action under my script I get the problem indication:

The markup tag script can only contain controls and markup tags.

So if you have a clue how to place a partial refresh under a ‘normal’ script that collects data from a document somewhere else then I would be greatful to hear it from you…