Photo gallery – Some clues?

I have recently written a proposal to a customer regarding the development of an application where the customer can easily upload images and share them in the organization. The customer is working for a marketing department so probably it will be high-resolution pictures they want to share.

In my proposal I wrote that the application would combine techniques that are already available in the ‘Domino world’ to reduce the amount of development hours.

For example, for uploading and creating thumbnails automatically the ‘Picture Gallery‘ project on OpenNTF contains some Java ScriptLibraries that do that work for you. The libraries you can almost as good as copy & paste in your application.

However I have some doubts how I want to display the images. 

  • The SimplePhotoAlbum uses flash and it looks like it is not using thumbnails but it is loading the high resolution pictures as thumbs. The same goes for Dewslider which seems easy to integrate.
  • The gallery for the PictureGallery is not working on my local machine. The other project Domino-Piclens has nothing released.
  • Unfortunately Philippe Gauvin has stopped blogging but he has some good examples using Lightbox and JonDesign’s Smooth SlideShow.
  • Also Michel Van der Meiren describes his trimmed variant of Lightbox.

One feature that I have added in my project description is the possibility to comment on individual photo’s. But this is more a nice to have.

So where to start? Or what to choose? Did I forget an option? And ofcourse is there something you can share?

My thoughts are to distribute the end-result here as a download or on OpenNTF as a project, but then again I do not think that it will a continuous development…

8 thoughts on “Photo gallery – Some clues?

  1. Niklas Waller 2009-March-3 / 3:30 pm

    Hi,
    I created a photo gallery using javascript, css and php with the foundation of E(2) Interactive’s photo gallery open source solution. This also includes also a very good solution in PHP to upload images and if needed create thumbnails etc.

    Maybe not perfect for Domino though.

    Read more and see the result (demo) if you’d like.

    -> http://www.wohill.com/design/379/A-nice-Javascript-photo-gallery.html

    // Niklas

  2. Declan Lynch 2009-March-3 / 4:11 pm

    Hi,

    The BlogSphere project on OpenNTF also contains a fairly extensive photo gallary so it could be a great starting point. It displays the pics in a variaty of ways, on screen as a dos, in a lightbox or if you have Piclens installed then it supports that also.

    While your customer may not have a requirement for the rest of the blogspeher bits I’m sure it world be an easy job to rip out all the blogbits and just end up with the photo gallary, here’s a hintset the web launch properties to photogallary…

  3. Tim C 2009-March-4 / 2:05 pm

    I have developed a lightbox app in a notes database – see our home page on sii dot org dot uk and click on the awards ceremony link.

    Happy to send db if you like…

    • Hynek 2009-September-15 / 10:37 am

      Tim, am interested in your lightbox app in a notes database. I would appreciate to test your db with this app. Thanks in advance,
      Hynek

    • Safi Mezoudji 2009-December-1 / 2:35 pm

      Hi Tim,
      Can you please send me the lightbox-lotus notes ?
      Really curious how Its works

  4. Razz 2009-March-17 / 3:52 am

    Hi,
    Something from many years ago..i created an XML view which referenced the images within the database (I included a field that held a short description for the image). I used an example of a Flash XML based gallery from the following site > http://www.kirupa.com. Finally I changed the the XML reference to a XML document via Notes Page. This page contained the embedded XML view…just a thought

  5. Mike Amberg 2009-March-22 / 10:13 pm

    I was looking for an interesting way to fill some whitespace on a domino website. The people i am working for have a company store where they sell promotional items. I wanted to display the products in a CoverFlow / ImageFlow effect. I thought it would be nicer effect than just thumbnails.

    I am still doing my research but check out the follwing …

    http://blog.pothoven.net/2008/01/my-imageflow-with-lightbox-packaged.html

Leave a Reply

