Hide paragraph if formula is true – HTML comment

The one thing I hate about the ‘hide paragraph if…’ feature is that, without opening the text properties box and navigate to the fifth tab, you hardly can tell if the paragraph is hidden or displayed and for which system (Notes client, Mobile or Web client).

In order to save some time and make it more visual I decided to add some HTML comment tagging saying that this piece of paragraph is hidden (or when conditional what the formula is).

Maybe you have a better suggestion?

hide when paragraph

6 thoughts on “Hide paragraph if formula is true – HTML comment

  1. Dmytro 2008-August-14 / 9:20 am

    I use similar approach. I did not found any better way, how I can show that this line is hidden.

  2. Darko Aleksic 2008-August-14 / 9:33 am

    I use font colors. Set the font color as red to mark that its a hidden field. Then you’ll know and dont even have to open the properties box in the future.

  3. Thomas 2008-August-14 / 10:04 am

    Not much help but I think there is popular request to change this over at ideajam.

    -T

  4. Nathan T. Freeman 2008-August-14 / 1:36 pm

    I’ve been using bright red text as hidden for about 16 years. Works like a charm.

    But I agree that a stronger visual note would be great.

    However, in your example, why do you flag a formula for this set to a constant of 1 instead of hitting the check marks to hide on various platforms or on all the read/edit conditions?

  5. quintessens 2008-August-14 / 6:07 pm

    @Nathan

    It’s just my laziness why I use a constant of 1. I do not know if there is a real performance win when selecting all the various platform independently… ?

  6. Richard Schwartz 2008-August-15 / 4:58 am

    There’s overhead in invoking the formula engine even though the formula is a constant. The checkboxes are definitely faster. Of course, the difference is very small.

Leave a Reply

